“Approach love and cooking with reckless abandon”

I woke up today and, as usual, immediately checked my e-mail. Thankfully, the first thing I read was an e-mail from a good friend of mine with words of wisdom from a friend of hers. What stuck with me was the advice – Approach love and cooking with reckless abandon.

Now, usually, I approach mornings with a “get ready – get out” kind of attitude when I have to be somewhere. Today would haven been just like that. But, instead, I was inspired by those words and decided to cook breakfast first. It was a wise decision because it gave me the opportunity to slow down.

With unexpected time (force made) in my hand, I looked out the window and saw that it was a beautiful November morning. So, I decided to eat breakfast outside, where I really did realize just how beautiful of a morning it was! It was sunny, bright, and warm with a cool breeze; a stark contrast to the cold, foggy, and wet days I have become accustomed to.

I enjoyed taking in the warmth of the morning, so much that I rescheduled on being where I needed to be for the afternoon. I wanted to take a hike to take full advantage of this rare November day (there are hills in my neighborhood, so I didn’t have to go too far).

Up in the hills, I realized that we do have enough time to stop for a moment and enjoy ourselves. Society dictates that we constantly move from where we are to where we need to be. But today, I chose to postpone that inevitably.

I will get to the end point – we all will. Sometimes though we all just need to stop and breathe in life.

One thought on ““Approach love and cooking with reckless abandon”

Leave a Reply

